In an effort to prevent long lines and handle each applicant in a fair manner, all concealed carry processing is handled by appointment only.
Where To Go For Your Permit
Jasper County Detention Center 405 E. 5th Street Carthage, MO 64836
Applicants must provide the following items at the time of application:
All applications will be processed by appointment only. Please call one (1) month prior to the date you would like to come in.
Applicants must provide the following at the time of processing:
Applicants must be at least 19 years of age or 18 years of age if in the United States Armed Forces or honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces. Applicants must meet the eligibility requirements as specified by Section 571.101 RSMo and complete the training requirements as stated in Section 571.111 RSMo.
There are a number of private vendors who offer the training in this area. They can be located by advertisement in the media, contact with shooting organizations in the area or local gun dealers. The Jasper County Sheriff’s Office does not recommend instructors.
A new permit is $100.00 cash or check. The renewal of a permit is $50.00 exact cash or check.
Under current Missouri law there is no time limit on how soon you must apply for a permit.
Yes, a number of states recognize the Missouri CCW permits. For an updated list of states go to the Missouri Attorney General’s Office website at the following address: http://ago.mo.gov/divisions/public-safety/concealed-carry-reciprocity
No. A citizen age 19 or older may carry a concealable firearm in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle as long as such firearm is lawfully possessed.
No. While Missouri honors any other states concealed carry permit, having a permit from another state does not mean you automatically get a permit in Missouri. To get a Missouri permit you must take a firearms safety course that meets specific requirements. These requirements can be found in Section 571.111 RSMo.
That can vary, depending on the time it takes to complete the background check. However, a permit will be issued or denied within 45 calendar days from the date of application.
Permits issued on August 28, 2013 or later are good for 5 years. Permits issued prior to that date are good for 3 years.
The concealed carry laws and other firearm laws are located in Chapter 571 RSMo.
A person issued a concealed carry permit that changes their address from one county to another will only need to notify the sheriff in the new county. The permit holder has 30 days to notify the new sheriff after they change their permanent residence. The permit holder shall furnish proof of residence to the new sheriff. The new sheriff shall charge a $10.00 fee and issue a new permit card. The new sheriff shall notify the old sheriff of the address change.
If a person issued a concealed carry permit changes his or her name, they will need to obtain a corrected concealed carry permit with the sheriff who issued the permit. Permit holders shall furnish proof of the name change to the sheriff within 30 days of changing his/her name. The sheriff shall charge a $10.00 processing fee for costs associated with obtaining a corrected concealed carry permit.
Permit holders that change their name or address and don’t notify the sheriff within 30 days shall be assessed a late penalty of $10.00 per month for each month, up to 6 months. If a permit holder exceeds 180 days without notifying the sheriff of the changed name or address the permit will be automatically invalid.
Any person issued a concealed carry permit shall notify the sheriff of his or her county of residence within 7 days after actual knowledge of the loss or destruction of her or her concealed carry permit. The permit holder shall furnish a statement to the sheriff that the concealed carry permit has been lost or destroyed. After notification of the loss or destruction of the permit the sheriff shall reissue a new permit within 3 working days of being notified by the permit holder. The new permit will contain the same personal information as the original permit. There is a $10.00 processing fee for the replacement permit.